Category Archive: Development
-
Add Your Website to Google Search Console in 3 Easy Steps!
Leave a CommentWe have noticed that most business owners invest their time and budget in designing and developing their brand’s website, and understandably so. But launching a successful website has so much more going on. We are here to briefly introduce you to the behind-the-scenes of launching our clients’ website. Any marketing agency worth their salt will ensure that Google Analytics will capture any activity or action the moment your website is public.
The reason behind linking your website to Google Analytics is to be able to optimise it later and track website traffic and other important metrics to ensure it is algorithm-friendly.
Firstly, we create a Google Analytics account and link the website to that Google Analytics account.
Then, create and link Google Search Console to gain SERPs-related performance reports. As well as, insights to help rank the website higher on search engines (SERPs), track its performance and keep improving.
Optimally, increasing the organic click-through rate, therefore, increasing sales.
Google Search Console is a free tool provided by Google to measure and deliver comprehensive website analytics.
This article will go through what is Google Search Console and how to connect your website to Google Search Console easily.
What is Google Search Console?
Google Search Console (GSC) is a free dashboard that enables any website owner to improve their site’s performance in Google Search results. Previously known as Google Webmaster Tools, it gives you everything you need to boost your search rankings.
Google Search Console provides insights when it comes to your website’s performance on different surfaces:
- Search
- Discover
- News
These are some of the data that GSC provides:
- Organic Impressions: A user saw a link to your page or site in a Google service (Search, News, or Discover).
- Organic Clicks: A user clicked a link to your page or site in a Google service (Search, News, or Discover).
- Organic Click-through rate: Clicks divided by impressions
You can check out this link for more metrics that Google Search Console measures.
It is best to link your Google Search Console to your Google Analytics account to have a comprehensive reporting system in one place. It will help you understand your search traffic and make optimisations that help increase your organic ranking and click-through rate.
Any business owner must understand what his team is working with and what needs to be done, especially for small businesses with tight resources and budgets. It is essential to armour yourself with these details. Even if you invest in working with a marketing agency, and they already do all those details, it is best to understand the know-how of such technical information; you’ll reap the benefits later.
If you have missed it, read our list of advantages when you invest in a good marketing agency. For when you are on the fence of slimming your marketing budget. Why Hire A Marketing Agency.
Now, let’s get to connecting your new website to Google Search Console.
Add Your WordPress Site to Google Search Console in 3 Easy Steps.
- Click the “Start Now” button on Google Search Console website
- Enter your domain or website URL. (consider which kind of verification you will use.) — Check out this link for more details about verifying a website’s ownership. —
- Verify ownership of the website in multiple ways:
- By downloading the HTML file and then uploading it to your website.
- Via DNS record by copying the TXT record into the DNS configuration for your website provided by Google Search Console.
Click “verify”, and you are done!
There are other verification methods that you can use (As the above image shows):
- HTML Tag
- Use your Google Analytics account
- Use your Google Tag Manager account
- Associate a DNS record with Google
There you go. Once the verification step is successful, your google search console account will be set up!
You can click the ‘Go to Property’ link on your Google Search Console dashboard.
Knowing the benefits and how-tos of tools like Google Search Console is one example of the many things marketers, web developers, and business owners should know how it works to keep adding weapons to their knowledge arsenal.
These free tools, like GA4 and Google Search Console, are designed to support website owners. They help business owners optimise and keep updating their websites with valuable content and engaging material to keep visitors hooked. Business owners should utilise them effectively and enhance their digital presence accordingly to reach and attain new customers and optimise leads and sales.
-
Your guide to Organic Click-Through Rate (CTR) and how to improve it!
Leave a CommentDo you find yourself fighting against the algorithm rather than flowing with it and reaping the benefits?
In this article, we will simplify the metric Click-Through Rate and show you six proven ways to improve organic Click-Through Rate (CTR) and rank higher on google and other search engine result pages (SERPs)!
What is Click-Through Rate (ctr)?
Click-Through Rate (CTR) is the percentage of people visiting a web page from an advertisement or organic search result.
To calculate the CTR, use the following formula:
CTR = (number of clicks / number of impressions) х 100
For example, if we have a web page with 300 searchers’ impressions but only 30 people decided to click the link. Let’s calculate the CTR according to the above Click-Through Rate formula:
CTR = (30 / 300) x 100 = 10%
You can find the average Click-Through Rate and more helpful analytics through Google Search Console, a free tool offered by Google to help website owners see how their website is doing in search results.
If you haven’t done so, follow our guide to learn how to add your website to Google Search Console in 3 easy steps. [add article link].
What is A Good Organic Click-Through Rate?
There are two approaches to define what is the average CTR.
- Base the good CTR on your own CTR. If the highest Click-Through Rate is 7%, then you should aim to increase it to 8%, then 9% and so forth.
- Determine the average CTR in your industry and compare it to your website’s performance.
It is an ongoing optimisation process, and an essential part of it is frequently publishing relevant content to enrich your website’s SEO and internal linking. It is also crucial to understand the importance of content relevance and SEO.
Much published research indicates that ranking higher on google and other SERPs directly correlates to Click-Through Rate. And click-worthy websites can be achieved by spot-on SEO. Recent research conducted by Ignite Visibility shows that Click-Through Rate is directly related to position on Google. Check the graph below.
Why Is It Vital to Care About Organic Click-Through Rate?
Increasing your organic CTR has many SEO and business benefits. Here are the top 3:
- More organic traffic: An increase in organic CTR means more people are clicking on your search listing, resulting in more organic traffic to your site. This means a better ROI for your SEO campaigns.
- Better SEO rankings: High CTRs signal to search engines that your content is valuable to users. As a result, they rank your content better.
- Increased revenue: An increase in organic CTR can ultimately lead to increased revenue for your business. This is because of the increase in traffic and leads.
While many businesses focus on boosting their SEO rankings, this alone is only part of the equation for having an impactful online presence. After all, ranking high is useless if people don’t click on your search listings.
Are you having trouble increasing your Click-Through Rate? Are you creating ads that don’t get clicked? Are you creating content that doesn’t get found?
You deserve the best! Find out how to increase your Click-Through Rate by getting a free proposal today! Contact us.
6 Organic Tactics to Enhance Your Click-Through Rate!
- Use long-tail Keywords
- Enrich content & relevant Keywords
- Rich snippets
- Add photos to the text
- Create more listicles
- Analyze current CTR & take action
Extra Bonus Check List to organically increase your Click-Through Rate!
- Do a Speed Test
- Is your website Mobile-friendly?
- Make sure to build a robust internal linking
- Do you use power words in your titles?
In conclusion, regularly optimising your website’s SEO and metadata and publishing rich content will improve your organic and paid advertising efforts.
The sweet spot is to write for your audience and edit for the algorithm by choosing your keywords, creating rich snippets and adding relevant photos for better search results. Get in the habit of extracting valuable insights from Google free tools like Google Search Console and Google Universal Analytics (GA4).